Excited and Nervous

Posted on Updated on

Coming up in 3 days (Wednesday) I leave out on my longest (time and distance) trip yet.  This is something that I have been looking forward to for a long time now (pretty much since I got the bike).  I have been going over what to pack and what to leave, and even with all the planning, I know I will find myself leaving something behind.  But as excited as I am, I am also nervous.  I will be traveling solo for over 7 hours (one way) which is a lot (over 350 miles).  I did have Raven in for her 4000 mile service, so everything is adjusted, fluids swapped, critical systems checked and verified.  Raven is ready, time for me to get ready.

A month ago, I had Raven blessed by the Buddhist monks in Indiana.  They gave me piece of mind and a bit of courage, knowing there were other humans who easily give their fellow man the benefit of the doubt and instinctively give their best wishes of happiness to everyone they meet.  I really wish more people would do the same, myself included in this.  I think we would all be better off.

While a 5 day trip, camping off the back of Raven, isn’t likely to be a life-changing event, I am hoping it will be at least a zeroing out point.  Something to let me reset the clock a bit.  Decompress.  It looks like it will be a bunch of good people, all with the same views on fun and the love of riding.  I have talked with a few of them and have been assured that there will be enough fun to be had by all, no matter the experience we each bring in.

I am expecting to put on over 1000 miles over the course of 5 days.  700 of them on the way in and out.  Raven will roll over 5000 miles on the way down.  Doesn’t seem like much for some, I know, but considering I got her in January and have put most of those miles on between the end of March and now, I think I am doing pretty good.  I bought her to ride, so that is what I am going to do.

Well, enough rambling here, I am gonna sound off.  Time to stop the planning and get onto the executing.  There are a couple things I have yet to pack, but those have to wait until Tuesday night.

Leave a Reply

